Brunch

He put the coffee
In the cup
In put the milk
In the cup of coffee
He put the sugar
In the cafe au lait
With the little spoon
He stirred
He drank the coffee
And he set down the cup
Without speaking to me
He lit
A cigarette
He made rings
With the smoke
He put the ashes
In the ashtray
Without speaking to me
Without looking at me
He got up
He put
His hat on his head
He put
His raincoat on
Because it was raining
And he left
In the rain
Without a word
Without looking at me
And me I put my head in my hand
And I cried.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brunch

  1. NancyDL says:

    Should this not be:
    He put the coffee
    In the cup
    He put the milk
    In the cup of coffee…

Leave a Reply

